Council of Academic Deans

Richard Aló, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Science and Technology

Johnnie Early, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Institute of Public Health

Shawnta Friday-Stroud, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Business and Industry

J. Murray Gibson, Ph.D.

Dean, FAMU-FSU College of Engineering

Bettye Grable, Ph.D.

Interim Dean, School of Journalism and Graphic Communication

Aretha Y. Hill, Ph.D.

Faculty Senate Representative

Cynthia Hughes-Harris, Ph.D.

Dean, School of Allied Health Sciences

Victor Ibeanusi, Ph.D.

Dean, School of the Environment

David H. Jackson, Jr., Ph.D.

Dean, Graduate Studies and Research

Micheal D. Johnson

Superintendent, FAMU DRS

Shelley A. Johnson, Ed.D.

Dean, School of Nursing

Deidré Keller, J.D.

Dean, College of Law

Valencia Matthews, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Agatha Onwunli


Ebenezer Oriaku, PharmD

Faculty Senate Representative

Robert Taylor, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Agriculture and Food Sciences

Faye Watkins

Dean, FAMU Libraries

Allyson Watson, Ph.D. 

Dean, College of Education

Rodner B. Wright, AIA

Dean, School of Architecture and Technology


1601 South MLK Blvd, Suite 300
Tallahassee, FL, 32307, US

About us

Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU) is a land-grant institution dedicated to the advancement of knowledge, resolution of complex issues and the empowerment of citizens and communities. Last year, U.S. News & World Report listed FAMU as the top public historically black college or university in the nation. Students seeking a challenging academic foundation will find a variety of programs to meet their career objectives. FAMU offers 54 bachelor's degrees, 29 master's degrees, three professional degrees, and 12 doctoral programs in a wide range of academic areas. University enrolls nearly 10,000 students hailing from across the United States and more than 70 countries, and the student body includes representatives from all ethnic, socio-economic and religious backgrounds.

Follow us